Indonesia To Develop Integrated National Parks

Reading time: 2 menit
Ijen crater. Photo: Alexis D/

Jakarta (Greeners) – Ministry of Environment and Forestry signed an agreement with Ministry of Tourism on Accelerating National Parks and Nature Tourism Parks Development, a senior official said in Jakarta, on Monday (16/5).

Tachir Fathoni, Director General of Natural Resources Conservation and Ecosystem at the ministry, said that national parks development was aiming to optimize forest and park assets as part of tourism attraction.

Currently, the government has been developing national parks connected into three clusters, — first cluster is located in Lampung and Java, especially West Java and DKI Jakarta, second cluster is located in East Java and third cluster is located in West Nusa Tenggara –.

“In the future, the three clusters must be integrated of its nature, culture and other attraction,” he said of the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).

In addition, the government applies four main strategies to attract tourists through developing the concept of cluster which aims to provide comfort and luxury attraction without neglecting conservation aspect and to connect all location into one integrated tourist destination.

“Second, to create new natural parks destination by connecting different destinations within the clusters,” said Fathoni.

Meanwhile, the third is to design comparative advantage of natural parks destination through tactical and strategic efforts. The uniqueness of national parks and natural parks is packed and designed in accordance with target market and integrated in National Strategic Areas design.

“Lastly, if course, we would applied 3P (Public Private Partnership) in developing natural parks,” he said.

Furthermore, he said that there must be synergy between national parks management and local people to achieve best management practices.

“That is why we will encourage local people’s potentials, from its culture, culinary experience, or other uniqueness,” he added.

The MoU between two ministries consists of 14 conservation areas, — 13 national parks located in islands of Sumatra, Kalimantan, Bali, West Nusa Tenggara and East Nusa Tenggara and Ijen Crater Natural Park.

Reports by Danny Kosasih

You cannot copy content of this page